Don’t Back Down

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armour of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.”
Ephesians 6:10 – 11

A week ago, almost to the day, God asked me to lay down a friendship. Not just submit it to his will and glory – sacrifice it. Lay it down without any idea or hope that God may choose to resurrect it. At first I didn’t understand why, but I chose obedience, and laid down a friendship that up until that point, I had seen as God’s will and could even trace how the Holy Spirit had created opportunities for its development… If I try to even begin explaining how complicated and twisted, this week has been with complications and miscommunications and simple annoyances – I would. But honestly, it’s too incredible to believe.

Within hours of laying down this friendship – choosing to seek God’s glory and purposes instead – a silly situation involving this friend suddenly blew up into (have no adequate words to describe it) unbelievably awful relationship meltdown. At first, my immediate reaction was gratitude for the laying down of involvement and responsibility, but to my detriment, I didn’t just walk away and things got progressively worse as I tried to “fix” things by facing the issues and trying to be as transparent as possible. Skipping past all the bewildering details, I found myself feeling like everything had imploded upon me and I was left feeling confused at how I was being accused of things I wasn’t even part of… honestly, I was stunned at the unfairness of it all. And then the spiritual side became very apparent…

Satan does not like it when God’s children obey Him, and especially when they choose to walk in the light before Him and people. Over the years, I have become certain of this: when we take a deliberate step of obedience or testify God’s Truth, we can be assured that the enemy will make a counter attack. I somehow didn’t see this one coming quite as it did, so honestly, didn’t take it on from a spiritual aspect soon enough. I tried resolving things in the natural – big mistake. It was only after Satan had destroyed everything, that I realised my error.

In my initial moment of crying out at the unfairness of the situation, I saw a very real image of Jesus being unfairly accused and how He endured to the Father’s glory. Using the excuse that I am not God in the form of man, I opted for the more human approach: I cried. Lots. Then, in my brokenness I called out for my Daddy God to hear me – and reached for my Bible. As I began to read the Word out loud, a strength and intensity rose within my spirit. Suddenly I wasn’t using Scripture to comfort myself, but rather, as a weapon against the forces of darkness – in an instant, I went from pathetic powerless fragile little girl feeling hard done by, to God’s Daughter, standing in the Authority of her Saviour, Jesus Christ and proclaiming His Victory… how did that happen??

Ephesians 6 is such a useful passage, giving specific instructions on how to face the enemy on the battlefield. Two things I realised tonight: the shield of faith is sometimes just the physical act of calling on the name of Daddy God, hiding behind the certainty that He hears our cries. And while cowering there for safety, the Sword of the Spirit – God’s Word – rises up in our hand to become a powerful weapon against the enemy. As God’s Children, we are commanded to stand your ground (Ephesians 6:13), that means – don’t give way. Don’t back down. Face the attacks with boldness, secure in the authority you hold in being the Redeemed of Christ. You walk and fight in the authority of Jesus Christ. In yourself – like me – you are nothing. You have nothing to boast of and nothing to defend, even when the enemy accuses you… and sometimes, when even he knows he has no reason to accuse you himself, he uses others to do the finger pointing. Remember, they are not the enemy you are fighting; keep perspective.

After tonight’s battle, I know this: I walk in the Light of Jesus Christ, safe in knowing I live a life surrendered to His glory. Others may not understand it or may question my motives; its not my place to prove my innocence – my Jesus knows my heart and I stand blameless before Him, and that is enough. Satan has no authority over any area in my life – I bring it all in submission to my Father, and so I know too, that although this friendship may be no longer after the week’s events, Daddy God is Sovereign and Almighty, working All Things to the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purposes (Romans 8:28). It’s in His hands; as am I.

My reason for writing this post is to encourage you too, to take your stand against the enemy’s attacks. Do not back down. Do not give way to the pressure surrounding you. If I sound a little hardcore, I am sorry, it’s been a rough week and I am tired of letting Satan run circles around me. This is me not only celebrating my own victory, but encouraging you onto yours too – keep holding up that shield of faith and proclaiming God’s Word; the Sword of the Spirit is powerful in hands willing to hold it up for God’s glory. Its with incredible assurance that we can proclaim Jesus’ Supremacy over All things (Colossians 1:15 – 23; awesome scripture to proclaim!) I don’t know about you, but I want to become someone Satan stops trying to attack – not because I have run away from the battle, but because he knows it’s useless spending resources against me as I stand in full confidence of Jesus’ Victory and Supremacy upon my life. That is living God’s Word with Full Conviction and Assurance of God’s Sovereignty. Don’t be afraid of the attacks; they simple serve to remind (and encourage) you that you are making a difference for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

