Can these Bones live?

“[God] asked me, ‘Son of man, can these bones live?’
I said, ‘o Sovereign Lord, you alone know.'”
– Ezekial 37:3

I felt prompted by the Holy Spirit to read this chapter yesterday. I had an inkling as to where He was going with it, but was still left in humbled awe at what He revealed… to put this little revelation in context, I have spent the past couple of weeks on a bit of a personal growth journey; seeking God’s heart and simply dealing with Stuff before what I am anticipating is a New Season. (Long story for another blog post) Anyway. Back to Ezekiel 37.

vs 1: “He brought me out by the Spirit of the Lord and set me in the middle of a valley; it was full of bones.”
God often draws us into the dark, lonely depths of a valley to face our bones – the things we have allowed to weaken and dry. No longer filled with Life and Hope, but rather discarded along the way, whether from Fear, Disappointment or Discouragement. He draws us into the Valley to be honest, to reflect, to acknowledge what we have abandoned and to grieve for our apparent loss.

vs 3: “[God] asked me, ‘Son of man, can these bones live?’ I said, ‘o Sovereign Lord, you alone know.'”
God presents our bones – our Hopes, Dreams, Prophetic Words, Promises – to us and tests our faith. Do we still Believe? At our most honest, we can only surmise that God alone knows when and how these things could possibly live again. It is at that confession, that He initiates Action…

vs 4: Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the Lord!
God asks us to Speak Life into these apparently dead, forgotten, dried out bones. By doing so, we are not only speaking God’s Word & Will over the situation, but we are declaring His Goodness into our spirits and reigniting the Hope that has been displaced. The power of Life and Death is in the tongue; Speak Life.

vs 7: So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I was prophesying, there was a noise, a rattling sound, and the bones came together, bone to bone.
Our Faith-filled Obedience creates an environment wherein God can perform miracles. He is the God of the Impossible, Maker of All Things, Through Whom All Things are Possible. He acts when we obey.

vs 9-10: Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Come, breath, from the four winds and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’” 10 So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.
God breathes Life into “dead” Hopes. When we present our Pain, Hopelessness, Fear, Disappointments to Him and ask Him to breathe upon it; He breathes Life. He is the God of Abundance; Jesus came that we might have Life and have it in Abundance. This is the Life He Breathes. And in that which He resurrects, He amplifies to something worth taking into battle.

vs 12: ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: My people, I am going to open your graves and bring you up from them;’
Nothing is too far gone for God to Redeem; there is no Hurt or Pain too severe that God cannot Heal, no Sin too extreme that God cannot Forgive. Even the grave holds no End for our God. He reaches out, past our Human Limitations and Is God. He speaks into what Is Not as though It Is – and things change. The place where you have fallen is not your End; ask God to reach into your ‘Grave of Hopelessness, Fear or Disappointment” and bring you up from there. He will. He is the God who Raises the Dead.

vs 13a: Then you, my people, will know that I am the Lord
Everything God does, is for His Glory & Renown. By showing His Sovereignty and Might through our broken lives, He reveals His Love to a Lost World. It is always about people knowing that He Alone is God. Although we benefit, it is never about us receiving praise or recognition. God does not share His Glory – there is no-one worthy of such a honour.

vs 14a: I will put my Spirit in you and you will live,
It is by His Spirit that we find Life. As God resurrected Christ to life again, so by Faith & through Grace, we may have that same Eternal Life through His Son. Where God works in your life, the result is always Life. Hold onto that when it seems that He is asking you to Die to Self… what may seem like a death is just the letting go in order to gain Life.

vs 14b: I will settle you in your own land
He gives us Family; a Home. If you have ever been “out there on your own”, you’ll know how precious those words are. They reach into the very centre of my heart and bring not only Comfort, but a Renewed Hope. I am not alone. He has established me in a Land which He has chosen especially for me. My very own Land. A place to Settle; to Grow; to Rest.

vs 14: Then you will know that I the Lord have spoken, and I have done it, declares the Lord.
And just in case you had forgotten: Its all About Him. Always.

As the Holy Spirit revealed this to me, I was struck by how very wrong I have had it all my life! I had always taken it for granted that God fulfilling His promises for my life were about, well, me. My life. I needed to repent and bring those Promises back before God and ask that He fulfill them as He sees Best – to His Glory. I recently heard  an incredible quote “God is a good steward; He does not waste His time”. I know that He will fulfill those Dry Bone Promises in my life when His Time is Perfect. I also know that He will not waste my time – if it seems slow in coming, there is a reason for it. I am not called to question His Faithfulness or Sovereignty. I am called to Trust. And to Obey. With Hope-fueled Faith.
You are too.

My prayer for you is that God may draw you to the place of acknowledging the Dry Bones in your life; that you may Speak Life upon them and see Him Breathe into those areas in your life – and may you be able to testify of His Goodness & Glory to others around you!

Leave a Reply

