This too shall grow…

Last week I made time for a much needed visit to the hair salon; the regrowth had reached shocking lows (we’re talking lift my chin high enough I suddenly became full brunette again).  Being winter, I figured a trim would be in order too.  My hairdresser suggested a trim of *fingers gesturing* 3cm.  My response was nonchalant: “Yeah great, take off whatever it needs.”

Big mistake. Huge.

Clearly what my hair “needed” was much more than I was willing to part with… a good 20cm more. Its just hair, right?  It grows back. Then why was I so affected by this sudden change?

 

The thing is, I loved my long(er) hair. If I am really honest, I would go as far as admitting it became a part of my identity; its who I was – the girl with the pretty, long hair. I know I can’t talk for all girls – yet at the same time I don’t think I am exceptional in this – but I think this may be true for most of us.  We seem to place so much importance on trivial, superficial aspects of ourselves, that its easy to lose sight of the really important things.  My identity is not in the length or colour of my hair, its not even in any other aspect of my appearance. Or my job. Or my relationship status. Or the car I drive. Or the suburb in which I live. My identity is found in Jesus Christ.  Its His opinion of me that determines my worth.

The Bible declares that I am a Child of God (John 1:12), accepted (Romans 5:7), made in His image (Gen 1:27) and am a co-heir with Christ (Rom 8:17).I am part of the body of Christ (I Cor 12:27) and a citizen of Heaven (Phil 3:20).   I have been fearfully and wonderfully made (Ps 139:14), am part of  a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that I may declare the praises of him who called me out of darkness into his wonderful light (1 Pet 2:9). The Bible reminds me that I have been called to live a life worthy of the Lord, that I may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that I may have great endurance and patience (Col 1:10 – 11).  I have not been given  a spirit of fear but of power and love and self-control (2 Tim 1:7) and in all things am more than conquerors through him who loved us (Rom 8:37).  He has strengthened my arms and enables to stand in high places (Ps 18:34-35). I am God’s masterpiece, created to do good works which God prepared in advance for me to do (Eph 2:10).

All of this sounds really impressive – and as God’s Word, is Truth – yet my very favourite verse is this: “For it is by grace that you have been saved, through faith – and this is not from yourselves but a gift from God – not by works, so that no one can boast.” (Eph 2:8-9).  My identity in Christ has really got nothing to do with me; its all about who I am in Him.  My worth only has value because of Him.

And praise the Lord, I can only really boast of what He has done… and be thankful. Even for hair that can grow back. (Hopefully) soon.

Leave a Reply

